HomeMicrosoftWish List


Ability to re-arrange stops while moving.
Shane
I hate when you highlight a stop and attempt to move it up or down the list while you are traveling and it un-highlights it. you have to be quick with your fingers to be able to click and move it before it un-highlights. That's a little annoying. I know I can stop navigation and arrange map view before i try to change the route order and everything will be fine but it would be so much easier to just do it while i am going.

Yes, I know that it's not safe to be fiddling with the computer while I am driving, blah blah blah.....
MisterMoonlight
Shane said:
Quote:
Yes, I know that it's not safe to be fiddling with the computer while I am driving, blah blah blah.....
There are also other consequences of changing stops while moving. This probably means you have very little attention on the calculated route itself, and you may get an illogical routing of a new routing going back on your route to use a waypoint you already passed by. I got a similar condition many times while using the auto reroute function (same as F3 key) after forgetting to delete old way points (and return back on my route).

Stopping, modifying the route by moving the waypts as desired (deleting old ones) and looking carefully at the new route, then restarting navigation is the way to go in my case to avoid all these situations...
Larry
You can move or delete stops in the route planner pane while on the go if you first open the GPS pane and uncheck the top 2 check boxes (Provide navigation and Arrange map view) then return to route planner. It's a bit of a hassle but you shouldn't be doing this while driving too much anyways :-)
malaki86
With the GPS turned on PERIOD, you can't rearrange your route. Doesn't matter if you're moving or not.
Gladwin
Quote:
Originally Posted by malaki86
With the GPS turned on PERIOD, you can't rearrange your route. Doesn't matter if you're moving or not.
Ok, I just tried Larry's steps with Streets & Trips 2011 version and I am able to rearrange route points under the route planner pane, When

1. Provide Navigation is unchecked, AND
2. Arrange map view is also unchecked.

And Yes, GPS (master switch) is still checked and I am being tracked on the map.

Malaki86, Is that not what you are seeing?
malaki86
If my GPS is enabled and navigation being provided (not moving whatsoever), as soon as you click on a stop, it unselects for you. Having to stop navigation, rearrange, restart navigation - bah. Too much of a hassle and one of the major reasons I stopped using Streets for my navigation. I can understand it when you're driving, but when the GPS is stationary?
MisterMoonlight
malaki86 said:

Quote:
as soon as you click on a stop, it unselects for you
I have seen this behavior while working with S&T keys in the past. I don't remember exactly the condition that make this happens, but it is not always happening when i got it.

I think that if the gps icon is moving a screen refresh is happening, this make the problem happening more, but i am not sure at this point.

But i can confirm the behavior malaki86 got because i got it myself several times...
laptopgpsworld.com About