Laptop GPS World

Laptop GPS World

GPS Navigation on Laptop, PC, TabletPC, UMPC, and CarPC

 
 

Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is!

This is a discussion on Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is! within the Microsoft Streets and Trips forums, part of the Software Discussions category; I just came across a website, which appears to belong to Microsoft, but it bears a strange URL: http://thesource....



Go Back   Laptop GPS World > Software Discussions > Microsoft Streets and Trips

Register All Albums FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
  #1  
Old March 25th, 2008, 07:19 PM
Laptop GPS World
www.laptopgpsworld.com
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 2,028
Question Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is!

I just came across a website, which appears to belong to Microsoft, but it bears a strange URL: http://thesource.ofallevil.com

I've never heard of the URL before. It may not even belong to Microsoft. Does anyone have any info on this, or anyone wishes to guess what it is all about?
__________________
Marvin Hlavac

Laptop GPS software reviews | Stores offering discounts to our members: Semsons & Co. Inc. and Deluo Electronics
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 25th, 2008, 08:01 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 168
Default Re: Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is!

Definitively not MS. Don't download any files linked from there or enter any personal data.
http://spiresecurity.typepad.com/spi..._thesourc.html
Quote:
PS:
I Googled the ofallevil page by searching for info about "activate.exe", one of the downloading files. According to Spyware.net (www.fbmsoftware.com/spyware-net/Process/Activate_exe/3001/) that file is or can be a Trojan.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 29th, 2008, 09:07 AM
Laptop GPS World
www.laptopgpsworld.com
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 2,028
Default Re: Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is!

It's interesting that Microsoft hasn't done anything to prevent that website from impersonating Microsoft. I don't understand the technicalities involved, but my guess is that it could be rather easy to do.
__________________
Marvin Hlavac

Laptop GPS software reviews | Stores offering discounts to our members: Semsons & Co. Inc. and Deluo Electronics
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 29th, 2008, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 110
Default Re: Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is!

If it were that easy to do, then there would be no phishing attacks on the Internet. eBay could shut down everyone impersonating eBay, Paypal could shut down everyone impersonating Paypal, and we'd be back to the leave-your-doors-unlocked Internet, where you could trust everyone to be who they say they are.

The barrier here is not technical, but the (lack of) speed of the legal system.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 29th, 2008, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is!

This is obviously a fake website.

The company that I work for is the actual source of all evil.

We let Microsoft think they're the source of all evil as a decoy; but actually, they're only the "source of all mildly icky things."

PS: You didn't hear this from me... and I was never here...!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 6th, 2008, 01:07 PM
Laptop GPS World
www.laptopgpsworld.com
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 2,028
Default Re: Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is!

Steve, no, it's not the company that you work for that is the source of all evil - it is the company that I work for !

Tao, you know about these things much more than most of us, but I just though, since it appears that the sub-domain of thesource.ofallevil.com is only redirecting the traffic to microsoft.com, that microsoft.com could just simply return 404, instead of allowing the traffic.

It appears to be a harmless prank , (and I don't think any content has been changed - it just redirects). I actually would welcome any site with any URL to direct its traffic to laptopgpsworld.com. Laptop GPS World, being a new site, can use any help in generating more visitor traffic it can get !
__________________
Marvin Hlavac

Laptop GPS software reviews | Stores offering discounts to our members: Semsons & Co. Inc. and Deluo Electronics
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 8th, 2008, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 110
Default Re: Is Microsoft the source of all evil? It appears it is!

Ah, I misunderstood. I thought the site was hosting its own copy of Microsoft's content, which makes it a legal problem to shut them down.

The site isn't doing that. Instead, they've configured their domain to point to one of Akamai's mirrors of microsoft.com. The way to block this would be to examine the Host: field of the HTTP request. For various reasons, this would have to be done as a deny-list rather than as an allow-list, which rapidly becomes messy as the list gets longer.

Because the server is operated by Akamai, Microsoft would have to make a request to Akamai to put any sort of blocking in place. It's always easier to do something yourself than to get a supplier to do it on your behalf.

So yes, it's possible to block. But it's highly unlikely that this would take place unless the problem becomes widespread.

Last edited by taoyue; April 8th, 2008 at 01:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
microsoft

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Garmin Mobile 10 be identified by the map source software? UKkid89 Garmin Mobile PC 1 July 2nd, 2008 11:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright © 2007 - 2008 Laptop GPS World. All Rights Reserved.